Program and Research Council

As mandated by the Royal Roads University Act, the Program and Research Council (PRC) advises the Board of Governors on instructional program and research priorities, program objectives and desirable learning outcomes.


  • Chair – Dr. Philip Steenkamp, President and Vice-Chancellor
  • Vice-Chair – Dr. William (Bill) Holmes, Vice-President Academic and Provost (interim)

Board Members

  • Mr. Nelson Chan – Chancellor and Chair, Board of Governors
  • Ms. Sage Berryman - Board of Governors representative
  • Dr. David Black -  Faculty Elected
  • Mr. Asad Shaikh - Student Elected

External Members

  • The Honourable Mary Collins, PC
  • Mr. Doug Kobayashi
  • Ms. Kathryn Laurin
  • Mr. Dan Perrins

Non-voting Members

  • Dr. Pedro Márquez 
  • Dr. Brigitte Harris
  • Dr. matthew heinz
  • Dr. Robert Mittelman

Council Support

  • Margot Bracewell