Bio (Ann Dale)

Bio Horizontal
Ann Dale

Ann Dale


Director, Program Head and Professor


Environment and Sustainability


Since being awarded Royal Roads’ first Canada Research Chair in 2004, Ann Dale has received national and international recognition for her research in the field of sustainable community development. Her research on governance, innovation and community vitality is designed to provide useful knowledge to Canadian decision-makers. Dale is deeply committed to online conversations on critical public policy issues and novel research dissemination tools, such as her YouTube channel, HEADTalks. An active researcher, Dale leads MC3, a climate change adaptation and mitigation research program studying best practices and innovations in community responses throughout British Columbia. Learn more by visiting her personal blog and her Canada Research Chair blog.


Dale is a member of the National Advisory Committee on Energy Efficiency, and was the founding research associate in residence, Council of Canadian Academies, 2010-2011. She is also a board member of the World Fisheries Trust and a fellow of the World Academy of Art and Sciences and chairs the Canadian Consortium for Sustainable Development Research. Before pursuing her academic career, Dale was an executive for many years in the federal government, and was one of the two civil servants behind the creation of the National Round Table on the Environment and the Economy in 1988.


Dale holds degrees in psychology and public administration from Carleton University, and a doctorate in natural resources sciences from McGill University (Dean’s Honour List). She was awarded the 2013 Molson Prize for the Social Sciences by the Canada Council for the Arts. She also received the 2001 Policy Research Initiative Award for Outstanding Research Contribution to Public Policy for her book, At the Edge: Sustainable Development in the 21st Century, and the 2009 Bissett Alumni Award for Distinctive Contributions to the Public Sector from Carleton. She is a Trudeau Fellow alumna (2004).