Students have three minutes to win thesis competition

February 27, 2019

A typical university thesis can run between 40 and 240 pages. Think you could explain it in 180 seconds?

What about to an audience who has never even heard of your topic?

Five Royal Roads University graduate students will accept the challenge at the Royal Roads Three Minute Thesis competition March 13.

Presentations topics range from mental health in the Canadian armed forces to tidal power. The winner will receive a $2,000 award, in part to cover travel expenses to represent Royal Roads at the regional competition at the University of Northern British Columbia April 17. Regional winners go on to compete internationally.

This year’s competitors:

  • Hannah Dahlquist-Axe, Master of Arts in Environment and Management, presents “Case Study of the Dent Island Tidal Power Generation Project”
  • Liton Furukawa, Doctor of Social Sciences, presents “The Impact of Knowledge Transfer in International Business on Early Childhood Education”
  • Monica Hinton, Doctor of Social Sciences, presents “Mission Before Self: Mental Health Care in the Canadian Armed Forces”
  • David Simms, Master of Arts in Disaster and Emergency Management, presents “Inuit Cultural Identity: Transformative Catalyst of Canada’s Arctic Search and Rescue Paradigm?”
  • Joan Zhao, Master of Arts in Environment and Management, presents “Sustainability Analysis of the VOCs Abatement Solution Proposed by SunHub Inc. for Small and Medium Enterprises in the Furniture Sector in China” 

Royal Roads professors Mary Bernard, Zhenyi Li and George Veletsianos will judge the competition.

This year more than 600 universities in 65 countries will participate in the competition, which was founded by the University of Queensland in 2008.

The Royal Roads Three Minute Thesis competition will be broadcast March 13 from 10 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. in the Learning and Innovation Centre (LIC). Contact Janine Hughes by March 6 to register. Late registrations cannot be accommodated. The competition is hosted by the Office of the Vice-Provost, Graduate & Interdisciplinary Studies and is sponsored by the Canadian Association for Graduate Studies.