Terry Farmer

Bio Horizontal

Terry Farmer

Award Received

Honorary Degree

Convocation Ceremony

Fall 2007 Convocation

Terry Farmer is President and Chief Executive Officer of Accent Inns Inc., an award-winning family-owned B.C. hotel chain he founded in 1986. The company has a head office and hotel property in Victoria as well as properties at five other locations in British Columbia including Vancouver, Kelowna and Kamloops. All are noted as being caring workplaces where employees are treated like family – a tribute to Mr. Farmer’s management style.

Mr. Farmer is a long-time supporter of tourism in this province and his career has been marked on more than one occasion with notable accolades. He was awarded an Entrepreneur of the Year Award for Tourism and Hospitality (Pacific Region) in 1998 and, since April 2004, has been a member of Tourism British Columbia`s Board of Directors.

In March of this year, Mr. Farmer was appointed Chair of the Belleville Terminal Blue Ribbon Task Force, a local team charged with developing a sustainable, market-driven financial model for the future development of the Belleville Street Terminal on Victoria’s inner harbour.

As well, Mr. Farmer is Past President of the B.C. Chamber of Commerce, Founding Chair of PacificSport National Training Centre-Victoria, and Past Chair of Tourism Victoria, Greater Victoria Chamber of Commerce and the Oak Bay/Greater Victoria Summer Games. Over the years he has served as a volunteer on the boards of numerous charitable, sports and community organizations including the Commonwealth Games, Patrons Council, Greater Victoria Hospital Society, YM-YWCA and the Community Welfare Council.

Currently, Mr. Farmer volunteers as a speaker at United Way Leadership Presentations and is a member of the Go2 Speakers Bureau, a resource for employers in tourism. In 2007, he received the Rotary Community Leadership Award; in 2005, the Generosity of Spirit Award and, in 2002, he was presented with the Queens Jubilee Medal.

Today, he accepts a Doctor of Laws, honoris causa at the University’s Fall Convocation.