Media Contact

For media inquiries, please contact, Jean Macgregor.

  • Phone: 250.391.2600 ext. 4793
  • Mobile: 250.415.6252

Share Royal Roads Online

New MOU with NWT School of Community Government

July 10, 2018
Cindy MacDougall
Tags: MOU
Left to right: Dr. Zoë MacLeod, director of Professional and Continuing Studies at Royal Roads; Dan Schofield, director of the NWT School of Community Government; Deputy Minister Eleanor Young of the NWT Department of Municipal and Community Affairs; Royal Roads President Allan Cahoon and Vice-President Pedro Márquez.

Royal Roads University and the Northwest Territories’ Department of Municipal and Community Affairs have signed a memorandum of understanding (MOU) to explore how they can expand cooperation to meet the needs of communities and their leaders in the NWT.

The five-year MOU sets the foundation for ongoing collaboration between the university and the department’s School of Community Government to enhance training services for community government, elected officials and staff.

“Royal Roads has a mandate to meet labour market needs throughout Canada. We help leaders develop the skills to succeed and better serve their communities,” says Royal Roads University President and Vice-Chancellor Allan Cahoon. “We specialize in bringing online learning to people where they live and are pleased to use that expertise in collaboration with the School of Community Government to serve community leaders throughout the Northwest Territories.”

“The Northwest Territories is delighted to sign this MOU. The collaboration will be good for the School of Community Government and good for community government students, who may have an opportunity to eventually continue their studies in other Royal Roads programs and further expand their knowledge and skills in such areas as governance, management and finances,” says Municipal and Community Affairs Deputy Minister Eleanor Young.

Royal Roads has previously collaborated with the School of Community Government to create and deliver online courses as part of its curriculum. The two organizations have agreed to cooperate in several areas, including additional curriculum and course development, instruction, distance learning design and delivery, and joint research activities.

The Department of Municipal and Community Affairs School of Community Government delivers training to the 33 community governments in the NWT, building capacity at the local government level. It coordinates a system of training and development, tools and resources, and supporting programs for community governments, their elected officials and staff. Its goals also include training Northerners for community government positions and helping community government staff acquire the skills to advance to more senior positions.